TOWN OF WINDSOR, CONNECTICUT

SPECIAL MEETING TOWN COUNCIL November 13, 2023 Windsor Town Hall – Council Chambers

APPROVED MINUTES

The swearing in of all Town Council members took place immediately prior to the commencement of the Town Council's Special meeting. Sworn in by Town Clerk Anna Posniak were: Mary Armstrong, Nuchette Black-Burke, Ronald Eleveld, Kristin Gluck Hoffman, Darleen Klase, Ojala Naeem, William Pelkey, Leroy Smith and Lenworth Walker

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 7:09 p.m.

Present: Mary Armstrong, Nuchette Black-Burke, Ronald Eleveld, Kristin Gluck Hoffman, Darleen Klase, Ojala Naeem, William Pelkey, Leroy Smith and Lenworth Walker

2. ELECTION OF MAYOR

MOVED by Councilor Darleen Klase, seconded by Councilor Len Walker, to nominate Nuchette Black-Burke as Mayor.

Motion Passed 9-0-0

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

MOVED by Mayor Black-Burke, seconded by Councilor Gluck Hoffman, to nominate Darleen Klase as Deputy Mayor.

Motion Passed 9-0-0

4. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

Mayor Black-Burke appointed the following councilors to the following sub-committees of the Town Council:

Finance Committee

Chair – Councilor Ojala Naeem Councilor Leroy Smith Councilor Ronald Eleveld

Health & Safety Committee

Chair – Councilor Mary Armstrong Deputy Mayor Darleen Klase Councilor Lenworth Walker

Personnel Committee

Chair – Deputy Mayor Darleen Klase Councilor Ojala Naeem Councilor Kristin Gluck Hoffman

Town Improvements Committee

Chair – Councilor Leroy Smith Councilor Mary Armstrong Councilor William Pelkey

Councilor Eleveld nominated Lenworth Walker to be appointed as Minority Leader.

5. APPOINTMENT OF TOWN ATTORNEY

MOVED by Mayor Black-Burke, seconded by Councilor Gluck Hoffman, to appoint the law firm of O'Malley, Deneen, Leary, Messina & Oswecki as the Town Attorney for the Town Council for a two-year term until the second Monday in November 2025.

Motion Passed 9-0-0

6. APPOINTMENT OF TOWN TREASURER

MOVED by Deputy Mayor Klase, seconded by Councilor Gluck Hoffman, to appoint Mr. Randall Graff as Town Treasurer for a two-year term until the second Monday in November 2025.

Motion Passed 9-0-0

7. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED by Councilor Naeem, seconded by Deputy Mayor Klase, to adjourn the meeting at 7:25 p.m.

Motion Passed 9-0-0

Respectfully Submitted,

Helene Albert Recording Secretary